570 WKBN News


Video of Grohl Alley defacing

Video of Grohl Alley defacing

(Newsradio 570 WKBN) - 33 people have applied for the position of president of Youngstown State University: they include former football coach Jim Tressel and STEM College Dean Martin Abraham. The university's board of trustees will select 8 finalists from the group; they will whittle that list down to 3 after interviews. Here's the list of applicants:

Dr. Martin Abraham, dean of the YSU STEM College.


Tony Atwater, a professor of mass communications and journalism at Norfolk State University in Norfolk, Va.


Christopher Brown, a senior fellow in the division of academic leadership and change for the American Association of State Colleges and Universities in Washington, D.C.


Ronald Bucci, interim vice president for professional and support services for Akron Children’s Hospital. He also is a faculty instructor at Walsh University in Canton, the University of Walden in Baltimore and the University of Phoenix.


Michael Cafaro (no information available)


Charles Canver, vice president for medical affairs and chief medical officer at Presence United Samaritans Medical Center in Danville, Ill.


Mary Cullinan, president and professor of English at Southern Oregon University since 2006.


Charles Cullum, provost and vice president for academic affairs for Worcester State University in Worcester, Mass.


George Ebbs, dean of the College of Business at Bloomsburg University.


David Glassman, provost and vice president for academic affairs and professor of anthropology at Bradley University in Peoria, Ill.


John Grahovac of Poland, who retired after 35 years in high school administration, most recently serving as interim principal at Bristol High School.


Walter Anthony Johnson Jr., who retired in 2011 after serving as chairman of the department of computer information sciences at Shaw University for 10 years.


Michael Laliberte (no information available)


Daniel Little, chancellor and professor of philosophy at University of Michigan-Dearborn since 2000.


Lesley Lovett-Doust (no information available)


James McCollum, executive deputy to the president/chief of staff at Millersville University in Pennsylvania.


Heather Miller of Youngstown, who will graduate from YSU in May with a bachelor’s degree in social sciences and liberal arts. She is currently a language tutor and lab assistant at the YSU Learning Resource Center.


Gary Miller (no information available)


Daryl Mincey (no information available)


James Payne, provost and professor of business in the Department of Economics and Finance at the College of Business Administration at the University of New Orleans.


Chee Piong, who is currently CEO of CKP Bookkeeping, LLC in Tamarac, Fla.


Marshall Porterfield, director of space life and physical sciences division at NASA headquarters since 2012.


Christopher Reber, who has been the executive dean of Venango College of Clarion University in Oil City, Pa., since 2002.


Christina Richey, senior scientist and program officer for Smart Data Solutions LLC and NASA headquarters.


Aldemaro Romaro Jr., who is currently dean of the College of the Arts and Sciences at Southern Illinois University.


Steven Rothstein, president of the Perkins School for the Blind since 2003.


Frank Sargent, who is currently special liaison to the president of academic initiatives at Johnson & Wales University in Providence, R.I.


David Satterwhite, who was executive director of the Japan-U.S. Educational Commission for nine years until 2013.


John Schwaller (no information available) Allen Lee Sessoms, who served as president of the University System of the District of Columbia for five years. He is currently a fellow at George Washington University, Virginia Science and Technology Campus, and at the American Association of State Colleges and Universities.


Hamid Shirvani, who has been a chancellor and professor of architectural engineering at North Dakota University System. He has been on leave there since June, according to his application.


Jim Tressel, executive vice president for student success at the University of Akron.


Kody Varahramyan, vice chancellor for research and professor of electrical and computer engineering at Indiana University-Purdue University in Indianapolis, Ind.



More Articles